31.08.2019, 15:00

Golden Pudel Club - PUDEL Garden LIVE XVII

Flyer für: Golden Pudel Club - PUDEL Garden LIVE XVII
Flyer komplett anzeigenFlyer verkleinern
Live/ DJ: Nika Son
Live: Rosaceae
DJ: Anika


Nika Breithaupt alias Nika Son works as a musician, artist, dj and film sound-designer after graduating in Fine Arts at Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg (HfbK) in 2012.

As a sound artist she became a dedicated hunter of extraordinary sounds and discoveries of new and old technologies in music. In her live shows, analog synthesizers communicate with manipulated tape machines, cinematic sounds are translated into a very unusual musical language, as if one watches the audible. Her compositions are built from deformed and fragmented fieldrecordings, interweaving with analogue synth lines, broken rhythms, rare voice scraps and filtered tape layers.

Nika Son has played at international festivals such as Intonal, Meakusma, IFFR, Klub Katarakt, Volt etc. and released on various labels, such as First Terrace Records, Mmodemm, Sky Walking, Anti-Ghost Moon Ray and her own imprint Noctui.

Forthcoming album on the belgian label Entr’acte.

Next to her solo project, she has been collaborating with various artists for many years now, foremost with the musician F#X (C) and the filmmaker Helena Wittmann.

Furthermore she hosts regular art and music events at the notorious Golden Pudel Club in Hamburg since 2011 (Next Time, Noctuidae). In July 2018 she staged a two-day festival called Eruption, freely based on the musician and video artist Conrad Schnitzler.

As a DJ (also under Nikae), her waywardly sound is marked by the outer space of electronic music, spanning from musique concrete, (early) electronics, synth wave, Industrial, Kraut and experimental Techno.



Rosaceae uses sound as a personal relief for the merciless world in which we live in. By createing her own narratives she unsettles normative rules of listening within the range of noise, ambient and power electronics.



Anika is a British and German singer-songwriter, musician, and DJ.

Before she began her singing career, Anika was a political journalist who spent her time between Berlin, Germany and Bristol, England. She met producer Geoff Barrow (of Portishead), who was looking for a female vocalist to work with his band Beak>. Anika joined the band in the studio and recorded nine songs in 12 days, including a cover of Yoko Ono's "Yang Yang.” The result, Anika, was released by Barrow's Invada imprint in Europe and by Stones Throw Records in the U.S. and Japan in October 2010. Anika received positive reviews from contemporary critics. The album also included covers of "Terry" by Twinkle, "End of the World" by Skeeter Davis, "Masters of War" by Bob Dylan and "I Go to Sleep" by The Kinks.

Geoff Barrow with editor John Minton directed the promotional music video for Anika's cover of "Yang Yang."The song was later offered as the "Free MP3 of the Day" on Spinner. The music publication Drowned in Sound included "Yang Yang" on its list of Singles of the Year 2010.

Several of the songs on Anika found digital success on iTunes. "End of the World" peaked at number seventy-eight on the iTunes Japan Top 100 Alternative Songs, while "Yang Yang" peaked at number sixty-four on the iTunes Spain Top 100 Alternative Songs. Anika was chosen by Portishead to perform at the ATP Festival: “I’ll Be Your Mirror” that they curated in July 2011 at London's Alexandra Palace and in September 2011 in Asbury Park, New Jersey.

Anika is also known as a DJ, hosts a radio program on BCR – Berlin Community Radio (Do Not Go Gentle,) is seen and heard in experimental cinema and collaborates with a variety of artists and musicians among them Jandek, Shackleton (Woe To The Septic Heart!), Michael Rother (Neu!), Dave Clarke (Skint), Doireann O'Malley, EASTER, Phillip Geist, and Yann Tiersen.

Beginning with a DJ performance on the infamous Boiler Room in 2012, Anika frequently spins at some of the world’s most renowned venues. Past sets include: Tresor (Berlin), TRAICIÓN (Mexico City), Rest (TRADE Berlin), Mono (Mexico City), Melkweg (Amsterdam), Berghain (Berlin), Golden Pudel (Hamburg), CTM Festival (Berlin), Subtopia (Stockholm), and Boiler Room (London and Berlin), amongst others.

In 2014, Anika formed the band Exploded View, based in Mexico City, along with local musician / producers, Martin Thulin, Hugo Quezada and Amon Melgarejo who released their self-titled debut album on Sacred Bones Records in 2016.

As the leader of Exploded View, Anika received praise for the band’s second single, “Orlando”, praised by Pitchfork as “An art-rock fever dream”. Other publications, such as The Quietus, Q Magazine, and The Times (UK) featured or wrote favorably of the band and their self-titled release. Uncut Magazine awarded them an 8/10 star rating, commenting, “Surprisingly essential dub dystopia from Bristol’s Nico and gang Exploded View.”

Anika and Exploded View subsequently toured Europe in the summer of 2016, drawing crowds for main slots at some of Europe’s top festivals, such as Green Man Festival (UK), Big Next Festival (BE) and Route Du Rock (FR), to mention a handful.

Later, in November 2017, Anika released a follow up with Exploded View - an E.P on the same label entitled ’Summer Came Early’. Anika and the band returned to Europe in Spring 2018 to celebrate the release of their EP, playing at festivals and venues such as Villette Monique Festival (FR), München Kammerspiele (DE), and Stockholm’s legendary Jazz venue, Fasching, to name a few.

September of 2018 saw the release of Exploded View’s second full-length album, ‘Obey,’ which is their most fully realized release to date.

• Anika (Stones Throw / Invada 2010)
• Exploded View - Exploded View (Sacred Bones 2016)
• Behind the Glass - Shackleton with Anika (Woe To The Septic Heart! July 2017)

• Anika EP (Stones Throw / Invada April 2013)
• Summer Came Early EP - Exploded View (Sacred Bones 2017)
• "Yang Yang" (Stones Throw / Invada 2010)
• "No One's There" (Stones Throw / Invada 2011)
• "99 Red Balloons" Invada Allstars feat. Anika* (2016) *Charity single for the Anti-trident Campaign
• "No More Parties in the Attic" - Exploded View (Sacred Bones - 2016)
Album Features
• Anika & Camera - 2am (Bureau B - 2014)
• Anika & T.Raumschmiere - Sleeping Pills and Habits (Shitkatapult - 2015)
• Dave Clarke I’m Not Afraid (Feat Anika) (Skint Records 2017) from the Dave Clarke LP ’The Desecration Of Desire’